GN Partners

Throughout the Government of Nunavut, there are several departments and territorial corporations that are responsible for energy services throughout the territory. Click the name of each stakeholder to learn more.

CGS is responsible for managing GN property, government procurement, administering utilities, promoting energy conservation in government facilities, and purchasing petroleum products in bulk. Within CGS there are two primary divisions responsible for energy-related matters: the Technical Services Division and the Petroleum Products Division.

Technical Services Division
The CGS-Technical Services section plays an important role in reducing energy consumption and the use of non-renewable resources in government facilities through the Nunavut Energy Management Program (NEMP). Through the Iqaluit Pilot Retrofit Project (an implementation of NEMP), 40 GN owned buildings have been energy retrofitted to conserve electricity, oil and water.  The GN has also taken steps toward utilizing alternative energy in Nunavut. A Solar Wall has been installed at the Baffin Regional Hospital to heat air, and Solar Domestic Hot Water (DHW) panels have been installed at three other GN facilities. These projects are being monitored to gather information about their appropriate use in the North.

Petroleum Products Division

The Petroleum Products Division (PPD) is a division of the Government of Nunavut’s Department of Community and Government Services.  PPD maintains inventories of petroleum products in all of Nunavut’s communities where no commercial suppliers (e.g. Esso, Shell, etc.) exist.  The mandate of PPD is:

A) To purchase, transport, deliver, store, distribute and sell refined petroleum products to residents in all communities of Nunavut in a safe, economic, efficient and reliable manner; and

B) To ensure a continuous supply of refined petroleum products (e.g. gasoline, diesel, Jet A-1, etc.) adequate to meet the current needs of consumers and the future development of Nunavut.

Each summer during the ice-free months, fuel is transported to each community via ocean tanker or tug and barge and is stored in on-shore bulk storage tanks. Locally hired and trained Fuel Delivery Contractors then deliver and sell the products to residents throughout the year.

For more information, visit CGS’s website.

The Qulliq Energy Corporation (QEC) is a territorial corporation 100% owned by the Government of Nunavut. QEC is the only generator, transmitter, and distributor of electrical energy in Nunavut.

All electricity needs in Nunavut are met by imported fossil fuel supplies, specifically diesel fuel. Qulliq Energy is the only energy corporation in Canada without developed local energy resources or regional electricity transmission capabilities, creating a situation of huge diesel dependency.Each community in Nunavut has its own independent electricity generation and distribution system. There is no back-up grid.

There are approximately 16,680 electrical customers across Nunavut.  Power is distributed to Nunavummiut through the operation of 26 stand-alone diesel plants in 25 communities.  Mechanical, electrical and line maintenance is provided from three regional centres, and administration of the Corporation’s business activities is coordinated from headquarters in Baker Lake and offices in Iqaluit.

Qulliq Energy Corporation is incorporated and operates under the Qulliq Energy Corporation
Act while its energy pricing is regulated pursuant to the Utility Rates Review Council Act.

For more information, visit the QEC website.

The Nunavut Housing Corporation (NHC) works to bring targeted housing solutions to Nunavummiut through the delivery of the Public Housing program, GN Staff Housing program, and various homeowner support programs.

Public housing is delivered through Management Agreements with NHC’s 25 community partners, the Local Housing Organizations (LHO). Public housing represents 50% of all housing stock in Nunavut. The NHC also administers the Government of Nunavut (GN) Staff Housing portfolio utilizing the GN Staff Housing Policy. The GN Staff Housing portfolio represents 13% of the housing stock in Nunavut.

Between public housing and GN staff housing, the Nunavut Housing Corporation is directly responsible for the energy needs of 63% of all housing stock in Nunavut.  This includes both electricity and heating use.  In addition, NHC also administers various homeowner support programs that go towards saving energy such as the Homeowner Oil Tank Replacement Program and Home Renovation Program.

For more information, visit their website.

The Department of Environment (DOE) has the lead responsibility for ensuring the protection, promotion, and sustainable use of natural resources in Nunavut. The Department of Environment delivers a wide range of regulatory and program functions to ensure the careful management of our resources.

Among its responsibilities related to energy and fossil fuel use in Nunavut, the Department is responsible for enforcing Nunavut’s environmental acts and regulations, including the Environmental Protection Act and the Spill Contingency Planning and Reporting Regulations. In this capacity, DOE monitors and investigates hazardous material spills, provides spill response training, and has initiated a home heating oil tank inspection program that involves free inspections of heating oil tank installations.

The Department also coordinates climate change adaptation programs and initiatives within the Government of Nunavut and works closely with communities and other  stakeholders to help build capacity for Nunavummiut to adapt to the impacts of climate change.

For more information, please visit their website.

As a central agency, the Department of Finance advises the Minister of Finance and Cabinet’s Financial Management Board on fiscal and economic policy issues, administers Nunavut’s taxsystem, manages the GN’s annual budget development process, supports the financial operations of GN departments and public agencies, and works to ensure that the GN makes sound financial decisions and accounts for them in an accurate and transparent manner.

The Fiscal and Economic Policy section works with departments to understand the fiscal and economic implications of proposed policies, such as energy subsidies.  The Department of Finance also works to offset the high cost of electricity in the territory through energy subsidies that reduce the costs of home ownership and small business development.

For more information about the Department of Finance and the programs it offers, visit their website.

Energy Tips

Use night covers on refrigerated display cases.

COMMUNITIES

img More...

GN Partners

Throughout the Government of Nunavut, there are several departments and territorial corporations that are responsible for energy services throughout the territory. Click the name of each stakeholder to learn more.

Le ministère des SCG est chargé de la gestion de la propriété du GN, de l’approvisionnement gouvernemental, de l’administration des services publics, de la promotion de la conservation de l’énergie dans les installations gouvernementales, et de l’achat en gros des produits pétroliers. Il existe deux divisions principales au sein du ministère des SCG qui sont chargées des questions liées à l’énergie : la division des services techniques et la division des produits pétroliers.

Division des services techniques
La division des services techniques du ministère des SCG joue un rôle important en ce qui a trait à la réduction de la consommation énergétique et à l’utilisation des ressources non renouvelables dans les installations gouvernementales grâce au Programme de gestion énergétique du Nunavut (PGEN). Par l’intermédiaire du projet pilote de rénovation d’Iqaluit (projet mis en oeuvre dans le cadre du PGEN), 40 bâtiments appartenant au GN ont été rénovés sur le plan énergétique en vue de conserver l’électricité, l’huile et l’eau. Le GN a également pris des mesures pour l’utilisation de l’énergie alternative au Nunavut. Un mur solaire a été installé à l’hôpital régional de Baffin afin de chauffer l’air, et des panneaux de chauffe-­eau solaire domestique (CESD) ont été installés dans trois installations du GN. Ces projets font l’objet d’un suivi afin de recueillir de l’information au sujet de leur utilisation appropriée dans le Nord.

Division des produits pétroliers

La division des produits pétroliers (DPP) fait partie du ministère des Services communautaires et gouvernementaux du gouvernement du Nunavut. La DPP assure la tenue des stocks de produits pétroliers dans toutes les collectivités du Nunavut où l’on ne retrouve aucun fournisseur commercial (p. ex. Esso, Shell, etc.). Le mandat de la DPP est le suivant :

A) Acheter, transporter, livrer, entreposer, distribuer et vendre des produits pétroliers raffinés aux résidents de toutes les collectivités du Nunavut d’une manière sécuritaire, économique, efficiente et fiable; et

B) Assurer un approvisionnement continu de produits pétroliers raffinés (p. ex. gazoline, diesel, Jet A-­1, etc.) adéquat pour satisfaire aux besoins actuels des consommateurs et pour assurer le développement futur du Nunavut.

Chaque été durant les mois exempts de glace, le carburant est transporté vers chaque collectivité par navire-­citerne ou par chaland remorqué, et celui-­ci est stocké dans les citernes de réserve sur terre. Des fournisseurs de livraison de carburant, lesquels sont embauchés et formés localement, livrent et vendent ensuite les produits aux résidents tout au long de l’année.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site Web du ministère des SCG.

 

La Société d’énergie Qulliq (SEQ) est une société territoriale appartenant à 100 % au gouvernement du Nunavut. La SEQ est l’unique producteur, transmetteur et distributeur d’énergie électrique au Nunavut.

Tous les besoins en électricité au Nunavut sont satisfaits par un approvisionnement en combustibles fossiles importés, plus particulièrement le carburant diesel. La Société d’énergie Qulliq est la seule société énergétique au Canada à ne pas disposer de ressources énergétiques développées localement et à ne pas posséder de capacités régionales de transport d’électricité, créant ainsi une situation de forte dépendance au diesel. Chaque collectivité au Nunavut dispose de son propre système indépendant de production d’électricité et de distribution. Il n’y a pas de réseau électrique de secours.

On compte environ 16 680 clients d’électricité partout au Nunavut. L’électricité est distribuée au Nunavummiut par l’intermédiaire de 26 centrales autonomes à diesel qui se situent dans 25 collectivités. L’entretien mécanique, électrique et des lignes est fourni par trois centres régionaux. L’administration des activités commerciales de la Société est coordonnée à partir du siège social de Baker Lake et des bureaux d’Iqaluit.

La Société d’énergie Qulliq est constituée et exerce ses activités en vertu de la Loi sur la Société d’énergie Qulliq, alors que sa tarification énergétique est réglementée conformément à la Loi sur le conseil d’examen des taux des entreprises de service.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site Website de la SEQ.

La Société d’habitation du Nunavut (SHN) s’efforce de proposer des solutions d’habitation adaptées aux Nunavummiut par l’intermédiaire de la prestation du programme de logement social, du programme de logements destinés au personnel du GN et de divers programmes de soutien aux propriétaires.

Les programmes de logements sociaux sont mis en place par l’intermédiaire de contrats de gérance conclus avec 25 partenaires communautaires de la SHN, à savoir les organismes locaux d’habitation (OLH). Les logements sociaux représentent 50 % de tout le parc de logements au Nunavut. La SHN administre également le portefeuille de logements destinés au personnel du gouvernement du Nunavut (GN) à l’aide de la politique sur le logement réservé à l’intention du personnel du GN. Le portefeuille de logements destinés au personnel du GN représente 13 % du parc de logements au Nunavut.

Avec le logement social et le logement du personnel du GN, la Société d’habitation du Nunavut est directement responsable des besoins énergétiques de 63 % de tout le parc de logements au Nunavut. Ceci comprend l’électricité ainsi que le chauffage. De plus, la SHN administre divers programmes de soutien aux propriétaires portant sur l’économie d’énergie, comme le programme de remplacement des réservoirs à l’huile de chauffage destiné aux propriétaires et le programme de rénovation domiciliaire.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site Web de la Société.

Le ministère de l’Environnement (MDE) s’assure de la protection, de la promotion et de l’utilisation durable des ressources naturelles au Nunavut. Le ministère de l’Environnement offre un large éventail de fonctions réglementaires et de programmes pour s’assurer de la gestion prudente de nos ressources.

Parmi les responsabilités en matière d’utilisation de l’énergie et du combustible fossile au Nunavut, le Ministère est responsable de l’application des lois et règlements environnementaux, y compris la Loi sur la protection de l’environnement et le Règlement sur les exigences en matière de déversements. À ce titre, le MDE surveille et enquête sur les déversements de matières dangereuses et il fournit de la formation sur l’intervention en cas de déversements. Le MDE a également lancé un programme d’inspection des réservoirs à l’huile de chauffage, lequel propose des inspections gratuites des installations de ces réservoirs.

Le Ministère assure également la coordination des programmes et des initiatives en matière d’adaptation aux changements climatiques au sein du gouvernement du Nunavut, et il travaille en étroite collaboration avec les collectivités et d’autres intervenants pour aider au renforcement des capacités des Nunavummiut à s’adapter aux impacts des changements climatiques.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site Web du MDE.

En sa qualité d’organisme central, le ministère des Finances donne des conseils au ministre des Finances et au Conseil de gestion financière du cabinet sur les questions fiscales et de politique économique, administre le système fiscal du Nunavut, gère le processus d’élaboration du budget annuel du GN, appuie les opérations financières des ministères du GN et des agences publiques, et s’efforce de s’assurer que le GN prend des décisions financières éclairées et en rend compte d’une manière exacte et transparente.

La section chargée de la politique fiscale et économique travaille avec les ministères pour comprendre les implications fiscales et économiques des politiques proposées, telles que les subventions à la consommation d’énergie. Le ministère des Finances s’emploie également à compenser le coût élevé de l’électricité dans le territoire par l’intermédiaire de subventions à la consommation d’énergie qui permettent de réduire les coûts de l’accession à la propriété ainsi que le développement de petites entreprises.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet du ministère des Finances et des programmes qu’il offre, visitez le site Web du Ministère.

Conseils en matière d’énergie

Utilisez de l’eau froide lorsque vous faites votre lessive. La majorité de l’énergie utilisée pour laver vos vêtements est pour chauffer l’eau.

Collectivités

img Pour en savoir plus...